As many of you know I have had some progress in health and have been winning little battles along the way, but some things persist: autoimmune disease (mast cell overactivation disorder, etc.), and all the symptoms that go with it: chronic inflammation and pain, flare ups and food intolerances, P.O.T.S., chronic fatigue, edema, neurological issues…..
My sister Holly and I are still digging away at getting to the bottom of why some things aren’t getting better. Holly has been having some pretty scary symptoms including brain inflammation, intermittent loss of vision, horrible fatigue and other symptoms. 

We have some excellent health care practitioners who are amazing and doing all they can, and treatments and meds continue to be expensive.
Yesterday there was a breakthrough; I saw one of my doctors to follow up on a test I had run a couple weeks ago; it actually went out of the country to a university that is doing some groundbreaking testing. Not only are they finding things labs in the US are not, but they are developing specific treatments to kill what they find. Apparently what I learned is that most labs here will only test for what is on the requisition, and nothing else, even if they find something they can’t identify it isn’t reported. So because they don’t do this kind of intricate testing in the US there is a doctor here in the states working with a doctor overseas at this university (who actually used to live here in Washington!). In any case several things showed up which are serious, but it’s good news because it would’ve gone undetected otherwise. I have an elevated white cell count, which is nothing new because that has shown up before, but what they did find is that I have some deep chronic parasitic infections one which attacks the gut lining and is deeply imbedded and is not treatable with normal antiparasitic’s, one that is attacking my liver and one my kidneys. 

So if untreated I could potentially be headed towards liver and kidney disease, and kidney disease is irreversible. Since the liver and kidneys have not been functioning properly all these years it makes sense that I can’t detox properly, process things properly, etc. 

As some of you may know because I brought it up in the past, I have been struggling with my liver and kidney function for many many years.

This help explains a lot of why all the autoimmune overreaction, the fatigue, swelling and other symptoms are not getting completely better even though the Lyme seems to be under control. (although Bartonella, a lyme co-infection did show up as still active). Getting treatment for the Lyme and coinfections has made huge difference, but there was still more to deal with. 

All the mast cell overactivation disorder and other autoimmune issues cannot get better until this is dealt with. 

Good news is that it is treatable with some specific medications they have developed at this university that does the testing. Bad news is it is $2,300 for the first round of 21 day treatment, and when I am done with that they have to retest and usually they have to do a second round of treatment at the same cost. (The test is also $788). 

And that is just me! I think our entire family needs to be tested (Holly already has and will be getting treatment too). The costs are big, but God is bigger.

I am asking God to do some miraculous things and we shall see how He provides. 
We could of course also use prayer in all of this, for healing and provision.

As a quick aside I could also use prayer that I don’t at any time have a stroke of blood clot as one effect of all this autoimmune activity is that my blood is thicker than it should be and puts me at risk of clot and stroke. I am on some things to counteract this but I’m still at risk. 

If anyone is able and feels led to aid in financial assistance we would be humbly blessed:

Lyme Fund page
And as always I am more than willing to work for finances so I will share my art page as well: Farfalla de la Luna Art Page

Leave a Reply

