Yoga Pants: Stop Hating! Fashion’s Love Letter To Lymies….

Ok, so this post is going to be a little tongue and cheek; since chronic illness is such serious business let’s laugh a little while taking a totally honest and truthful look at the oft laughed at yoga pant and legging trend.

Ready? 

Ahh yoga pants; we love and hate you. Your wonderful, stretchy, giving, comfy, form-fitting cotton-spandex (or whatever) blend. Yes you can be brutal. You hide nothing and display our muffin tops, jelly rolls, donuts, jello thighs and all the rest of the glorious imperfections of our bodies for the world to see (and to turn from in horror!). You are not for everyone that is for sure and you leave imprints on our brains of those that just “shouldn’t” wear you that can’t be erased; like a sudden bright light at the back of our retinas.

And yet, to we the invisible illness sufferers, the chronically ill, you, our yoga pants and your cousin the leggings, are our best friends.

You never cut into our tender skin that is always in pain.

You don’t dig into our flesh with your unforgiving seams when our bodies swell and bloat. When we change sizes (sometimes within a few hours) due to our inflammation, you change with us rather than punishing us.

You don’t remind us by not fitting when our inflammation goes haywire and we can’t get into any of our clothes.

And did I mention you are comfortable and adaptable? We can go from lying on the couch with you being all casual and lazy, to putting on a nice long top or little dress right over you and be ready to go out the door. You dress up and you dress down with a cute pair of boots and a pea coat. 

You are also a great friend during doctor visits; because when things get invasive you hug us tightly but aren’t so bulky that you get in the way when doctors poke and prod. Oh and bless you Y.P. And leggings when we get on the doctor’s scale (you don’t weigh much my friend). 

Jeans and slacks have betrayed me (😑) and  I have said goodbye to them now for about eight years as the edema in my legs makes me wear a size 14-16 for my lower legs, which just doesn’t jive with my size 2 waist. 

But all hail my dress black yoga pants which serve me well everyday; lounging, sleeping, working, churching…. yes I still hide my legs in shame and humiliation and never sit down without something on my lap and draped over my knees to hide the hideous bulbous mess that is my lower body… but at least my yoga pants love me and don’t punish or judge πŸ™‚

The swollen foot escaped!



The pants that love you back ❀ (not my butt πŸ˜‰)

6 thoughts on “Yoga Pants: Stop Hating! Fashion’s Love Letter To Lymies….

  1. I am a guy and a big one, so I don’t do Yoga pants. But yes, comfortable clothes is always wise. I basically walk around in old school sweat pants and a loose fitting big T-shirt. When you have a lot of pain, generally, no reason to burden yourself with minor annoyances that can be avoided. For comic relief, there is a comedian that does a great bit about pants:

    this one is great, from Sal Vulcano. Gets sent wrong package. It’s some women’s clothing…women’s pants. He starts writing back to her, “I have your pants…” And he realizes that “I have your pants” sounds like the beginning of a kidnapping note,” so he sends her a ransom note to get her pants back. Very very very funny stuff.

    This Is Not Happening – Sal Vulcano – Kidnapped Pants…

Leave a Reply

