Well love it or hate it we are over a decade deep now into the online social network that has taken over the world. And I wonder… What did we do without it? Yes yes I know some people still refuse to have a FB account, some people get frustrated and deactivate it, some people complain that it has taken the place of “real” interaction: And if you hate it that’s totally fine, because Facebook is highly subjective; It is made entirely of who you friend, what you follow, who follows you, what  you choose to post and how people respond, and visa versa.

 You want an online boxing ring? You got it; just post highly controversial and political stuff and rant and rave and argue with those that disagree. You want just a way to communicate with a few chosen friends and family members who you don’t see often enough? No problem; keep your circle small and keep subjects personal. 

This may be a slight over-simplification And I am not saying that this formula is perfect, or that negative things won’t happen in the FB universe, because they do to everyone at some point. For example, I got viciously attacked recently just for re-sharing a news story on a hot topic, I didn’t voice an opinion mind you simply shared a news piece… And someone who I hadn’t seen in person in years ripped me apart and actually called me human scum 😔 Wow. Needless to say that person is no longer my “friend” and has been blocked.

But getting to the point of this post: I opened my WordPress app lying in bed this evening prompted to write this because right now I feel like poo poo; Despite waking up late on a Saturday and taking a good two hours to “get rolling” I only lasted several hours before my body and brain just started shutting down and I had to go take my (currently) daily nap. I woke up and it was after seven pm and I’ve done almost nothing today and still feel too tired to do anything this evening. So (of course) I hop onto Facebook to see what the rest of the world is up to (I admit to logging on multiple times a day). But there they all are! Living! doing stuff! being normal… There is a picture of a friend’s new born baby. There is a post and picture of a friend’s new craft space. There are photos of a friend and her kids having a great day. There is a funny video of a cat 😆 Posts, upon posts, upon posts, of life happening. And of course for those that share my world, there are the Lymies; their petitions for prayer in their struggles, questions about new treatment protocols, brave self-videos letting it all hang out there publicly to raise awareness and/or to cry out for help, to ask for understanding…..    And after spending some time interacting, liking, reading, messaging  and sharing, I thought “what would I do without Facebook?” 

Over many, many years of illness and ups and downs (though focusing on the downs for the point of this blog) Facebook has been my window into life itself; I can’t even count the accumulative time that must add up into years of just sitting in my room, on my bed, isolated. I am here all the times inbetween working hours and (those up times when I get to do stuff with people) this is where I spend my life. In an approximate 10X10 room alone. 

I have heard personally from people who suffer from illness or just plain lack of funds how FB makes them bitter seeing all the “positivity” and observing other people always seeming to be doing things and going places. I have to admit before God worked on me in this area of my life I used to be horribly bitter and in a constant state of grief over everyone else who got their normal lives and got to progress through the normal stages of life while I seemed to be left behind in a time capsule, only it was the cruelest kind of capsule because life passed me by but I still aged inside with none of the benefits. 

Long story short, God did a work in my heart in repenting of grief, discontent and mourning and stop giving every new day over to negativity. I will quickly say that I do still have days like that, but they are no longer a state of being and they don’t linger if I give myself back to the Lord.

Where was I going with this? Oh yes, so Facebook has become my way of seeing and talking to my friends that I don’t often/never see and staying in touch with people that would otherwise be lost forever. Like That event I was invited to but couldnt attend? Well there on FB are photos of all my friends who were there and what happened. I can still feel a little apart of those things I couldn’t be at, and it is actually scary for me to think how dark my world would be without FB. 😱

You know what else? For the chronically ill community FB is nothing less than completely empowering! We have forums, we have pages, we friend each other, we offer support and love and help to each other in our suffering and offer empathy where no one else could understand. I think what is one of the most amazing aspects (when you are sick with something that is so hard to treat and misunderstood) is the openness of fellow illness sojourners and the sharing of new treatments, research, articles, new protocols, Doctor information…. It goes on and on. I have actually presented info to my own doctors that other Lymies have shared that they have used to help treat! This is actually how treatment and information regarding chronic Lyme is growing and moving forward; it is the power of the online community. Really! I have even had a doctor tell me that it’s the bloggers who are moving information forward with chronic Lyme.

Thanks to Facebook I have also made some dear fellow-Lyme, fellow-Christian friends. Dear sweet people some of whom I have even spoken on the phone with and prayed with. I have to say some of the dearest Christian women I have met are those that not only love Jesus but have suffered so much and continue to suffer. The difference is that they let their brokenness have its perfect result in self-refinement, stronger empathy, greater love and letting themselves be used for His purpose. 

So thank you Facebook; (ignoring all the hate and the arguing, the negativity and the stupidity, the vicious attacks and naive hatred…. )Thank you for letting us connect, for letting us share and be real, for being a platform for the chronically ill, for letting us see life happening all around us, for letting us support each other and lift each other up in times of crisis, and thank you for no end to funny cat videos 😸

And thank you to the people who use Facebook for good and not evil.

3 thoughts on “❤️Facebook❤️ A Window To The World

  1. Jennifer,

    Thank you for your post and sharing your life. I just stumbled across your blog, and am amazed there is someone else out there that has had so many similar health issues as my family and I.

    Our condensed version: we unknowingly lived in a house with mold for many years, and our health steadily went downhill. I have officially been diagnosed with Lyme, but believe other family members have it too. Even after finding what is wrong with us, we have struggled in the years since to find treatments–of the little we have found, not much has helped. I have also developed lipedema.

    A few years ago, I became home bound almost all the time, which has made everything increasingly hard to deal with. I feel like the rest of the world is passing me by. Even worse, my very talented son is home bound, too, and that is just as harder, if not worse, for me to deal with. My mom has been our lifeline, calling me daily, and really keeping me connected to the rest of the world.

    Sadly mom passed away suddenly and unexpectedly in our home this past April. Our small family was very close, and miss her more than I can say. Her passing has challenged my Christian faith tremendously, made me question everything, and left me more discouraged than I ever have been–especially with this continued health issue.

    Thank you for putting words to many of the struggles we have faced first-hand.

    Becky

Leave a Reply

