The Road goes ever on and on
Out from the door where it began.
Now far ahead the Road has gone,
Let others follow it who can!
Let them a journey new begin,
But I at last with weary feet
Will turn towards the lighted inn,
My evening-rest and sleep to meet. ~LOTR, JRR Tolkien

I love this little song from the Lord Of The Rings, a Hobbit walking song. I sometimes think the opening words in my head when I am out walking or biking. I am immensely blessed that I have been able to bike more again these last few weeks after such a long absence. I am now 3 months post treatment for Lyme and coinfections and I am definitely feeling some huge improvements…. still some battles to be won, but big steps.

I have been speculating that the road I am on in this life has continued to be the same one whether I crawl or ride. Even before I started seeing any improvements in my health God has been giving me a deeper and deeper peace with where I am in life and the path I am on. I have become very grateful for the decades of trials that have shaped me and matured me in ways that would not have been possible without difficulty. What I am excited to see now is how God uses everything He has taught me, the knowledge He has given me and the deep empathy I have learned for those who suffer. I also know the years I have left in my life will be filled with a deep appreciation I would not have otherwise. I will enjoy every minute of health that will be given me and have the blessing of not taking anything for granted.

So the road does go ever one and on, some days I still crawl but some days I now ride fast, and someday I will fly.

path to God's greatest blessing

Leave a Reply

