“The Day After”, “Payday”, “Tapped Out”, “Hit A Wall”….

Couldn’t decide what to title this post, so I chose several.

I had a very unusual weekend (for me) in that I was busy Thursday night after a long day of work, busy all day Friday, and all day Saturday. These were commitments I very much wanted to do, but also was very worried about for several weeks not sure how my energy would hold up. I was excited to go to a conference that I registered for almost two months ago, and I knew it would be very spiritually uplifting. Also my Bible study was having a day retreat and I had never been on one before because, you know, tired…. So darn it I was going to have some fun!

So at the beginning of the week I kicked it off with a bunch of body pain/inflammation/increased fatigue, just, you know, because…. Halfway through Wednesday I actually hit a wall with my head buzzing, terrible fatigue, vertigo, basically “toxic” and tired on a crazy level. I had to go home and take a nap, which if you know me I really don’t nap. Thursday’s work day went a bit better although I still didn’t feel quite “present”.

Thursday night was the first session of the conference I was excited to go to, but I felt kind of detached sitting there and was having difficulty getting into the right state to receive what I was hearing. It was still good though but I didn’t get home until around 10:45pm and was super tired. I probably fell asleep 11:45’ish having to wake up the next morning at 7:00am. But did I wake up at 7 you ask? Well no I woke up at about 5:15 and couldn’t get back to sleep. Back to the conference at 9:00am for the first session of the day. It did end up being a great experience and was very uplifting but I did peter out and couldn’t last for the evening session. I went home and took…….another nap! When I woke up my body pain and swelling were so bad I didn’t know how I was going to make it through the next day. I did a 60 minute session in the infrared sauna and blessedly it reduced the pain by about 50%.

Got up early the next morning and felt a lot better and ended up having a good day trip to Whidbey Island. I am glad I did everything I did, because it is frustrating never doing anything!! I was really proud of myself how well I actually did on Saturday with energy and stamina.

But today…… I feel like I have used most of my backup battery and I am super tired, all that lovely body pain and extreme inflammation is back. I really just want to sleep for a week. I know that throwing off your body’s natural rhythms with eating and drinking and activity variations can hit you pretty hard when you are dealing with an auto immune disease, so I know that has some into play.

Right now I am trying to plan for being super careful with my diet this week and making sure I don’t skip my vitamin water. Also I think I need to stay disciplined and keep up with sauna sessions. Emotionally I am a mix right now; It is easy to feel down when you pay with so much suffering doing activities that all the “normal people” do. But I just came our of a conference that was all about shifting your perspective to that of Christ, and “there are no problems without and equal amount of grace and provision”. So, I’m hurtin’ but I am looking for an equal amount of promise and possibility.

 

4 thoughts on ““The Day After”, “Payday”, “Tapped Out”, “Hit A Wall”….

  1. I’m glad you were able to participate in all the activities but I know how much that can wear on you when you have a chronic illness. I’ve found that focusing A TON on detoxing for a few days after a lot of activity helps a lot. My FIR sauna is what keeps me alive 🙂 so I think that is good idea to focus on getting a session in every day for the next week!

  2. Wow! I’m so impressed with your stamina, I know how taxing ‘life’ and events can be on your body when you aren’t well. During my struggles with Lyme if I had one outing on a weekend, I’d pay for it the next day. 😦 Damn you Lyme! I have listed some supplements on my blog that might be helpful for you. You may already be using them, but if they help you, then AWESOME! Try and take it easy- be balanced. Hang in there! http://pagingmrszen.wordpress.com/2014/06/02/lyme-treatment-my-favourite-supplements/

Leave a Reply

