Thanksgiving In Recovery

Today is tough isn’t it? For many reasons; we can’t eat the food we want to eat, we may be stuck at home to sick to go out, we might be to tired to interact with others…and holidays are hard especially for the chronically ill when we see others enjoying their lives and being “normal” when we feel stuck in a time warp.
This year for me thankfully was better than last year, last year was one of the worst of my life. This year I am functioning better, I’m still tired but much better energy, weight is coming down, body pain is hugely improved, my vision is better…
Today though at the family gathering I was feeling the effects of some inflammation and fatigue, I wasn’t feeling that talkative, although I did my best. I was feeling a bit fuzzy in the head and sleepy. I was able to stick completely to my diet, although I am still getting a terrible inflammatory response it seems no matter what I eat, this is driving me crazy.
What is really hard is seeing everyone else move on with their lives and relationships, and here I am all by myself. Easy to throw a pity party because it hurts so very badly, but I am hopeful that next year will be different because I am getting better!
So I am kind of sad and grateful tonight.
I am hoping all you other CII (chronic invisible illness) sufferers out there had a good day.

20131128-191314.jpg

Leave a Reply

