So How Was Your Weekend?…the difficult questions for an invisible illness sufferer

So if you are blessed enough (like I am) to be at the stage of illness/treatment where you can hold down a job, I am sure you have heard this question on a regular basis…”How was your weekend?”
It’s a tough one to answer especially to coworkers who see you “functioning” somewhat normally, but don’t quite grasp that in order to do this at work it means you don’t have weekends.
Evenings and weekends are about recouping, resting, vegging. At least most of the time. That makes it very hard to explain to people that you really didn’t do anything, and this weekend was just like the weekend before, and the weekend before that, not much happened. It’s hard because, well, “you look fine” right? 😉

So I am just, just, poking my head back out of a pretty significant slump that has lasted for the last two months. Something I have learned from when I last had a period of time when I felt better, is not to use up all your energy. You see a couple months before my slump (I’m owning it!), I had a period of about two months where I felt better than I had in years, I did some stuff, I saw some people, I helped some people, and it was all good. Now I don’t think overtaxing myself was what caused my crash, but I don’t think it helped any either. So we live we learn right?

So this time as I am feeling a little more human again I am thinking of letting my body use most of my extra energy (I call it extra, normal people call it normal). Now I do want to see some friends again, and be able to do a few things, but I am going to be very careful.
I have been slowly coming out of my bad fatigue over the last two weeks, but last week was REALLY tough on my body with some nasty bladder/kidney symptoms and pain. I had gone to the doctor and I’m clear of any UTI or stones, the thought is that I was having a major detox. Thankfully those symptoms are ebbing away, and I am looking forward to (hopefully, fingers crossed, knock on wood, salt over shoulder…) some better days ahead.
So tomorrow I will face the inevitable question “How was your weekend?”
Answer: I actually got out to see a movie with a friend! Woot woot!

How do you feel when others ask you about your week/weekend? Does it depress you? Do the flood gates open? Or is it just no big deal?

20131111-101917.jpg

2 thoughts on “So How Was Your Weekend?…the difficult questions for an invisible illness sufferer

Leave a Reply

