I don’t want attention

What is your default when you don’t feel well? Some people want attention, some people want to be comforted, some people want to pretend that they are better than they really are. Me? I usually just want to be left alone.
No offense to the dear people I love so much in my life, but it is really hard when you don’t feel well, you look gross and have limited energy to be around others.
For me I think there are two things that being ill long-term has fed in the way of insecurities; although I am a lot better than I used to be, but I still struggle with a negative body image. So when I put on a lot of weight and/or a lot of water weight (gee thanks GI issues and chronic edema) I feel really gross about myself and I don’t want anyone to see me. Also I am an introvert. INFJ/INTJ so it is easy for me to regress into my “cocoon.”

Okay for everyone out there that thinks being introverted means I don’t like people or am antisocial that’s not true! It means that I greatly value time with a few people vs a hoard, or one on one. There is nothing so wonderful as having a great conversation with one friend or a couple of good friends.
but when you don’t feel good, and or don’t look good, putting out social energy is tough.
So in these last several weeks with this little health setback I have been thinking that I have been isolating again. So I’m just putting those thoughts out there for today. Is this true for any other sickies out there?

20131031-180626.jpg

Leave a Reply

