What I Wish Healthy People Knew

So painful, and so true. Even though just literally in the last couple months I have started to get my head above water, to have more energy, to not feel like I am in a complete fog all the time….My body and I are still at war. I still struggle with energy, still struggle with terrible swelling and water retention, still digestive problems, and PAIN. But there is a small light. Now the hard part is feeling like a person who has awakened from a coma and has lost years of their life that they cannot get back. As my peers are mostly married, and even having their second babies, here I am 34 and single, and if I may be so bold…never even been on a date. There is a piece of my life that should be there that isn’t, years that should have been lived and were simply lost. Where do I go from here as I look at complete wellness still being somewhere in the future; and not this year, maybe not even next year? I live day to day, because today I can manage. Today I can pull through. Today I can give 100% to my job and leave nothing for myself. That is today, because tomorrow has been elusive for as long as I can remember.

LymeLight

I’ve been a bit silent in my blogging lately.  I intend to give an update in a bit, but first I want to share something I found today that I thought was written quite well.  On the blog, Hope For the Journey, Kimberly Rae shares a list of things she wishes healthy people knew.  Looking over the list I found I agreed with many of the things she said, and so I was inspired to write my own.  I’ve borrowed a few of hers and added a few of my own:

1.How hard it is for me to make plans.  My condition fluctuates daily; I have no idea how I’ll be feeling next week or even tomorrow.  I can plan on going to Bible study all week long, but when the day comes–or just an hour before–I may suddenly be even more ill and be unable to make…

View original post 1,047 more words

Leave a Reply

