Why Does Lyme Cause Pain?

Image

I have had a couple bad weeks, this following a couple months of improvement. It seems like a bit of a setback…although I know slumps are normal, it is still difficult, especially when you don’t know why. So right now I am dealing with pretty bad pain in my muscles and joints, especially in my legs.
 Since it is so bad right now I thought I would share something written by my doctor about why Lyme causes pain:

Chapter 14: Pain”

“Pain is the result of inflammation and direct injury in certain tissues. In Lyme, white blood cells that attack germs produce cytokines. These cytokines have many effects that ultimately produce inflammatory prostaglandins and hypercoagulability ( easy clotting) of the blood. Hypercoagulability can lead to poor blood flow into tissues fed by small blood vessels because the blood becomes “sticky”. This can lead to poor oxygenation of all tissues including muscles.  When muscles do not receive sufficient oxygen they ache and develop spasms. Common over-the-counter for pain like ibuprofin and aspirin lower prostaglandins by blocking COX enzymes that are used to produce them. One way that cytokines increase pain is to increase the production of COX enzymes. Treatment approaches to reduce pain in Lyme work to lower inflammatory cytokines, decrease prostaglandins, improve blood flow to tissues, and decrease muscles spasms.”

With me right now it feel like someone has taken a baseball bat to my lower body.

 

Leave a Reply

